Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Salamanders send three to CPL All-Star Game

Photo by Hailey Cole: From left: Itchy Burts, Chris Crabtree, Liam Hicks.
Photo by Hailey Cole: From left: Itchy Burts, Chris Crabtree, Liam Hicks.

David "Itchy" Burts, Chris Crabtree and Liam Hicks are representing the Holly Springs Salamanders at the Coastal Plain League 2019 All-Star Showdown.

The trio will play for the East Division during the six-team tournament on July 7-8 at Historic Grayson Stadium in Savannah, Georgia.

Burts, commonly the Salamanders' leadoff hitter, is touting a .436 on-base percentage in 12 games this season. The second baseman from League City, Texas also has seven stolen bases in eight attempts, one-third of the team's combined season-long steal count.

After spending his sophomore year as the starting first baseman at Duke University, Chris Crabtree has stayed red-hot this summer. In 14 games he has a batting average of .327, accumulating 13 hits, third-most on the team, and a team-high five home runs.

Liam Hicks, a steadying force while the Salamanders lineup struggled early in the season, is hitting .364/.456/.527 in 16 games this season, while splitting duties behind the plate and at first base. The Arkansas State signee also has 13 RBI, second-most in Holly Springs behind only John Michael Faile. Faile along with Crabtree, will play for the CPL Select Team versus the USA Collegiate National Team, and fellow Salamander Patrick Bailey, at the USA Baseball Training Complex in Cary on July 1, at 4 p.m.

The All-Star Showdown will feature six teams consisting of 12 players: East Division All-Stars, West Division All-Stars, North Division All-Stars, South Division All-Stars, Fan Voted All-Stars and Team Savannah.

The Divisional teams are selected based on votes from CPL head coaches, broadcasters and one media representative per team.

The Showdown begins with a home run derby at 6:05 p.m. on Sunday, July 7, followed by the quarterfinals at 6:50 p.m. Semifinals start Monday at 6:05 p.m. leading to the eventual championship game at 8:05 p.m.